Arche Verlag

In 1944, the 23-year-old law student Peter Schifferli founded Verlag Die Arche.

From the start its program sported big names like Werner Bergengruen, Gottfried Benn and Ernst Jünger, and soon complete editions from Georg Heym, Georg Trakl and Hans Carossa appeared.

This was rounded out by Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, Katherine Mansfield, e. e. cummings and John Steinbeck, the works of Dadaists Hans Arp, Hugo Ball, Walter Mehring, Kurt Schwitters, and Swiss authors like Friedrich Dürrenmatt, Hugo Loetscher, Adolf Muschg, Gerold Späth and Walter Vogt.

Peter Schifferli died in 1980. Since 1982, Regina Vitali and Elisabeth Raabe have been steering Die Arche through the literary seas. A mainstay of the program for over 15 years was the popular Arche Literatur Kalender which today is published by the Arche Kalender Verlag.

Today, many contemporary German and international writers enjoy a solid home at Arche.

In 2008 Verlagsgruppe Friedrich Oetinger became the new owners of Arche Literatur Verlag.